reader ¶ The Corpse King ✓ Nook read

kindle ì The Corpse King à Christopher Kellen

The Corpse KingSixty years before the events of ELEGY Book One of the Arbiter CodexAfter years of nothing but grueling training and the desperate dance of death that is the life of an acolyte Arbiter D’Arden Tal has been named an apprentice He has been assigned to learn from Havox Khaine one of the greatest Masters in living memoryFor two years they The Corpse King is the story of the young arbiter apprentice D'Arden Tal and his master Havox Khaine who are investigating some strange rumours they have heard on their travels; the rumours of a mad king ruling a kingdom of corpses As it happens these wild tales turn out to be uite true but the situation is complicated than thatThe story starts out uite slowly and balances uiet scenes and scenes of action very nicely all the way through The story contains not only the outer conflict but also an inner conflict of the main character who several times uestions the things his kind the arbiters does and the way of the worldBeside the uite intriguing story it is very well written It contains in particular some very good descriptions of the atmosphere One of my favourite passages is thisAs they proceeded on the rank stench of recent death was slowly replaced by the stale musk of old death and the corpses became less rotten and skeletal The sour pit in D'Arden's stomach grew deeper as they went the cold fingers of anticipation playing up and down his spine Kellen Christopher 2011 09 09 The Corpse King Tales of Eisengoth Kindle Locations 316 320 Kindle Edition It is uite a page turner really I found that on every other page some new exciting thing was mentioned that I instantly wanted to hear about I swallowed the whole thing uite fast but then it is not that long either It is an easily conuerable story in that sense; short well written excitingThe only thing about it that prevented me from giving it my top rating is that its impact on me was not uite what I think it could have been I felt like I was watching a very interesting play being acted out in front of me instead of getting the feeling that I was in the play myself This was partly I think because Christopher Kellen does not really go into much depth about the characters so even though I liked them I did not know them well enough to feel really animated when something happened to themThis is however exactly the kind of introductory short story that would definitely make me want to read the novel in which's universe it is set From the descriptionWith this novelette welcome to the world of Eisengoth a dark fantasy realm ruled by insane gods and the setting for ELEGY Book One of the Arbiter Codex Heroic fantasy for fans of Conan Robert E Howard Kane Karl Edward Wagner or Geralt of Rivia The Witcher Andrzej Sapkowski with a Lovecraftian horror flairMore review by Hypervorean on Numinous Publication a blog dedicated to high fantasy

Christopher Kellen à The Corpse King ebook

Have traveled across the known world and now they enter a tiny kingdom on the edge of nowhere Rumors abound that the monarch of this kingdom is insane and has created a demented puppet court of the deadD’Arden must learn what it truly means to be an Arbiter as he makes his first real confrontation with the horrors of corruption Somethi The Corpse King is a novella designed to be an introduction to Tale of Eisengoth however it felt like I'd been dropped into their world with no idea of what was what They have flaming blue manna swords They stab themselves in the heart with a crystal needle They are called Arbiters but no clear understanding of who or what they are is given Maybe I need everything given to me on a plate but instead of world building it was already fully formed by the time I started to readIt was written well with no editing or grammatical errors to be seen With detailed and sometimes gruesome descriptions this is not for the young or faint of heart A good story that I enjoyed but without enough world building for meMerissa Archaeolibrarian I Dig Good Books

ebook The Corpse King

reader ¶ The Corpse King ✓ Nook read ´ Sixty years before the events of ELEGY Book One of the Arbiter CodexAfter years of nothing but grueling training and the desperate dance of death that is the life of an acolyte Arbiter D’Arden Tal has been named an apprentice He has been assigned to learn from Havox Khaine one of the greaNg much worse lurks within the shadows of the king’s mind than simple madness and D’Arden will find reason to call himThe Corpse King The first of the Tales of Eisengoth The Corpse King is an exploration of D’Arden Tal’s early years as an Arbiter in trainingFor fans of Robert E Howard Karl Edward Wagner and Andrzej Sapkowski I absolutely LOVED The Corpse King This is one of my favorite short stories to date I liked the dark plot and what D'Ardan and his master went through to set things right By the way they seem like they'd be a really fun pair to travel with just say'n P Man I WANT MOOOOOREEEEEEE FROM THIS STORY It has the potential to become a really good series and I was sad when it ended so soon I'll definitely be checking other books from this author sometimeYoung people can read this dark story too I didn't notice anything horribly inappropriate about it