By Any Means Necessary kindle Ù 320 pages

Candice Montgomery ↠ By Any Means Necessary pdf

By Any Means Necessary kindle Ù 320 pages É An honest reflection on cultural identify class and gentrification Fans of Nic Stone and Elizabeth Acevedo will eagerly anticipate TorreyOn the day Torrey officially becomes a college freshman he gets a call that might force him to drop out before he’s even made it through orientation the beeIs beloved uncle Miles left him after his tragic death is being foreclosed onTorrey would love nothing than to leave behind the family and neighborhood that’s bleeding him dry But he still feels compelled to care for the project of his uncle’s heart As the farm heads for auction Torrey precariousl SOMEBODY GIVE THIS AUTHOR A GD PULITZER 🍯🐝💫 idk entirely objectively I think the book’s pretty ok ijs

book ß By Any Means Necessary ↠ Candice Montgomery

Y balances choosing a major and texting Gabriel the first boy he ever kissed with the fight to stop his uncle’s legacy from being demolished But as notice letters pile up and lawyers appear at his dorm dividing himself between family and future becomes impossible unless he sacrifices a part of himse DNF 100Story touches on gentrification and how they come into the lower income neighborhoods increase the prices and force people to leave I’ve seen it happen and it’s horrible Torrey deceased Uncle Miles leaves him an apiary but it’s about to be seized in 30 days Torrey just started college and is trying to deal with both life changing events at the same time This is my first time reading this author and even though the book isn’t written badly I’m having a hard time getting into the story and connecting to Torrey Even though I am not the intended audience I have read YA books that I have enjoyed but this book wasn't for me so I felt it was best to stop reading

kindle By Any Means Necessary

By Any Means NecessaryAn honest reflection on cultural identify class and gentrification Fans of Nic Stone and Elizabeth Acevedo will eagerly anticipate TorreyOn the day Torrey officially becomes a college freshman he gets a call that might force him to drop out before he’s even made it through orientation the bee farm h Instagram || Twitter || Facebook || || PinterestBY ANY MEANS NECESSARY is a breezy college age YA about a Afro Latino boy named Torrey It explores his struggle to keep his apiary bee farm from being foreclosed on the negative aspects of gentrification and also his coming of age romance with the bisexual love interest Gabriel a hot Portuguese guy who was the first boy Torrey ever kissedThere were some things I really liked about BY ANY MEANS NECESSARY I think it has an authentic YA voice The romance was great It does an excellent job focusing on some of the elements that make California such a uniue and diverse place to live while also showing how racially charged class disparities can be harmful to cities and the people who live and work in them especially people of color I loved all of thatThe downside was that this book took me a long time to get into and sometimes I almost felt like it was trying too hard to get me to think that the main character was cool Maybe I'm just too old to appreciate some of the teen ridiculousness but at times it felt like Torrey's humor was too forced and over the top which often had me rolling my eyesThere isn't really a solid plot This is largely a character driven story and while it works here that isn't really my favorite method of story telling which did impact how much I liked this book If you're looking for diverse YA with a great romance and some real world issues though I think you would do well to pick up BY ANY MEANS NECESSARY especially if you don't mind a meandering and character driven storyline Thanks to the publisher for sending me a copy in exchange for an honest review  3 to 35 stars